Our perceptions are shaped by our experiences. This is no less true for me and my perspective on sociology, so I thought it might be helpful to give a little info about my background.

My name is Jon Witt. I was born and raised in Sheboygan, Wisconsin. I went to college and graduate school in the Chicago area and received my Ph.D. in Sociology from Loyola University Chicago. I am married to Lori and we have two unbelievably great kids. Emily is 10 and entering 5th grade, and Eleanor is 8 and starts 3rd grade in a couple weeks. I teach at Central College in Pella, Iowa where we live. We have been in Pella and at Central since moving from Chicago in 1993. Lori teaches U.S. History at Central College and received her Ph.D. in history (also from Loyola).

Hopefully that’s good enough for a start, but I’m sure more will follow. I think that biographical accounts are essential for good sociology, and include many in my book. If sociology can’t connect to who we are, where we come from, and where we are going to, then I’m not sure what it’s point is. Sociology should make a difference in our daily lives, and it can do so as we realize the ways in which we are shaped by the posiitons we occupy. It can also empower us as we shape others through our knowledge and action.

